Solved Changing a pokemons type with an item

TheMaper

Rookie
Hello, so I've been having a bit of trouble with changing a pokemons type by using an item.

Currently I have this as the test item:
613,ORANGEVIAL,Orange Vial,Orange Vials,2,300,"An orange vial.",1,1,0,
and the code that I'm using is under PItem_ItemEffects and looks like this:
ItemHandlers::UseOnPokemon.add(:ORANGEVIAL,proc{|item,pokemon,scene|
if pokemon.hp>0
pokemon.Type1=(PBTypes:FIRE)
pokemon.healStatus
scene.pbRefresh
scene.pbDisplay(_INTL("{1}'s Type was altered.",pokemon.name))
next false
else
scene.pbDisplay(_INTL("{1}'s HP is too low.",pokemon.name))
next true
end
})
The goal of this item is to require a pokemon be above 0 hp, change their type depending on the item, and remove statuses (Incase a poisoned pokemon becomes poison type or a burned pokemon becomes firetype).

Any help would be much appreciated :) I'm a little new to messing with scripts. But I can tell the jargon of (PBTypes:Fire) is not quite right.

Mr. Gela

Elite Trainer
Hmmm, much like base stats, a Pokémon's type is inherited from their form, and not a value you can change individually, like shininess would be. I'll try to take a look at this in the near future for you but until then, I just wanted to let you know this isn't the way to pursue it. What I'd do is, inside "PokeBattle_Pokemon", create a new accessor, call it whatever ("typeOverride"?), then give it a default value of nil. Have the item change "typeOverride" to ":FIRE", and then modify hasType?, type1 and type2 methods in this same script section to ignore their true values if "typeOverride" isn't "zero".

Mr42leon

Novice
Isn't it easier if you just use this item like an evolutionary stone?
I mean, if you're going to change the type, just do it like an evo.

TheMaper

Rookie
Thank you for the help. So I made the typeOverride acessor on line 36 of "PokeBattle_Pokemon"
attr_accessor(:typeOverride) # Type Overwrite: